> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://astronomer.io/docs/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Authorize Workspaces to a cluster

> Learn how to configure a cluster so that only specific Workspaces can use it.

<Note> This is feature is only available if you are on the **Enterprise** tier or above. See [Astro Plans and Pricing](https://www.astronomer.io/pricing/).</Note>

To provide greater control over your cloud resources, you can set a rule so that only specific Workspaces can use a specific cluster. For example, you can configure a cluster so that only production-level Workspaces can create Deployments in the cluster.

Use this document to learn restrict a cluster so that only authorized Workspaces can use it.

## Prerequisites

* [Organization Owner](/docs/astro/user-permissions#organization-roles) permissions.
* A [dedicated cluster](/docs/astro/create-dedicated-cluster).

## Authorize your workspace

<Tip>
  **A new Astro UI is here**

  Astronomer has redesigned the Astro UI. Try the new experience and switch your instructions using the **New Astro UI** and **Legacy UI** tabs on this page. Your selection is remembered across the docs.
</Tip>

<Tabs>
  <Tab title="New Astro UI" language="astro-next-ui">
    1. In the Astro UI, go to **Settings** > **Clusters**, then select a cluster.
    2. Go to the **Workspace Authorization** tab and then click **Edit Workspace Authorization**.
    3. Click **Restricted** and select the Workspaces that you want to authorize to the cluster.
    4. Click **Update**.
  </Tab>

  <Tab title="Legacy UI" language="legacy-ui">
    1. In the Astro UI's **Organization** section, click **Organization Settings**, then click **Clusters** and then select a cluster.
    2. Go to the **Workspace Authorization** tab and then click **Edit Workspace Authorization**.
    3. Click **Restricted** and select the Workspaces that you want to authorize to the cluster.
    4. Click **Update**.
  </Tab>
</Tabs>

After you authorize Workspaces to a cluster, Astro treats the cluster as restricted. Restricted clusters do not appear in the dedicated cluster drop-down menu within the **Create Deployment** view of Workspaces that have not been authorized.

<Info>
  A restricted cluster can't host Deployments from an unauthorized Workspace. To restrict a cluster that's currently running Deployments from unauthorized Workspaces, you must transfer the Deployments from these Workspaces to the Workspaces you want to authorize.

  Similarly, to unauthorize a Workspace but still keep its Deployments in the cluster, you must transfer your Deployments to a Workspace that is still authorized to the cluster. See [Transfer a Deployment to another Workspace](/docs/astro/transfer-a-deployment).
</Info>
